Out of The Darkness by Katy Hogan – A very personal review

“A person is like a candle,” he said.

“The wick is the body, the flame is the soul, bringing light into the world.”

A tale of love, loss and life after deathOut of the Darkness is.the debut novel from Katy Hogan. First published in 2015 by Illumine Publishing, I was very lucky to receive my copy from the author in the past few weeks.

This is a very special book with a very special message about dealing with grief….what you interpret and take from it will be a very personal experience.

‘Love will always light the way, until we meet again some day…’

Please continue reading to hear my thoughts…

The Good Enough Mother by Anoushka Beazley – My Review

A satirical black comedy about love, motherhood and the human condition

The Good Enough Mother was brought to my attention by fellow book blogger Joanne Robertson. Joanne’s enthusiasm for the novel jumped out of every sentence in her review When I was contacted by Anoushka Beazley enquiring would I like a copy to review myself?? Why of course I said YES!!!

The Good Enough Mother was published in July 2016 by Larchwood Press.

Read on to see my thoughts!!

Review for @TripFiction : The Muse by Jessie Burton

Firstly let me state that I’m a huge fan of Jessie Burton’s writing.

I treated myself to her previous novel, The Miniaturist, on a trip to The National Gallery in Dublin. I felt it was a fitting location to purchase it and what a read!!

When the opportunity came up from TripFiction to read The Muse I was more than willing to accept.

Published by Picador I received my copy from Tripfiction in exchange for my honest review.

Jacques by Tanya Ravenswater – My Review

‘It is only when we matter, when we are seen and truly loved, that we know what it means to fully live.’

Every so often a book comes on your lap that just draws you right in.

Jacques by Tanya Ravenswater is one of those books. Published by Twenty7, an imprint of Bonnier Zaffre, Jacques is a beautifully written, coming-of-age novel about a young French boy.

I loved this book and hope you will too. I received my copy from Bonnier Zaffre and NetGalley in return for my review. I do hope you read it and please let me know what you think.

 

#bookreview: The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins

YOU DON’T KNOW HER

BUT SHE KNOWS YOU

Ok, I admit, I must be one of the only people who had no idea what this book was about. I chose to avoid the blurb and hype, as sometimes, it can predetermine one’s view of a book. I’m so glad that I did!!

The Girl On The Train is the global bestseller from writer Paula Hawkins, Published by Transworld, the book was released in 2015 to great acclaim. With the movie on the way, I felt it was high time I dusted down my copy and read it.

Here is my, as ever, unbiased review. Please feel free to share your thoughts if you have read it already and if not…pick it up and turn those pages!!

#bookreview ~ The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

How do you stop a killer,

when no one believes they exist?

I set myself a challenge to read books that had been sitting under my bed gathering dust, for no other reason than lack of time. The Woman in Cabin 10 was one of those books!!

Published on 19th July this year by Harvill Secker, a division of Penguin Random House, Ruth Ware’s latest novel is the follow up to her previous bestseller In a Dark Dark Wood.

Read on to see my thoughts and please let me know what you think.

Lie In Wait by G.J. Minett – My Review

Lie in Wait is the second novel from author G.J. Minett. Published by Bonnier Zaffre, Lie in Wait is due for release on 25th August 2016.

I have not read G.J. Minett’s, much praised, previous novel Hidden Legacy so I was looking forward to getting my hands on this one. I would like to thank Bonnier Zaffre and NetGalley for my ARC in exchange for my, as ever, honest review.

#bookreview ~ DEVASTATION ROAD by Jason Hewitt @JasonHewitt123

Devastation Road IS one of THOSE books

This IS one of THOSE reviews

I received my copy of Devastation Road from Schribner and swiftly pushed it up my TBR pile. I have really been looking forward to it for many reasons but mainly after reading the following:

‘Perfect for fans of Rose Tremain and Sebastian Faulk’s Birdsong’

Birdsong is possibly one of my all time greats, so Devastation Road had a lot to live up to in my eyes!! Also, I have recently read, LOVED and reviewed The Gustav Sonata by Rose Tremain.

No pressure then Jason!!

Read on to see my thoughts….