Three Women ~ All with Strength All with a Story to Tell ~ #bookrecommendations

Today I am writing about three under-celebrated women that have featured in books I have read in recent times.

Women are very often portrayed as the victim in books and while these women had their difficulties, they fought against the norm as they strove to live their lives their way.

There are so many books in the genre of historical fiction, many I have read but never had the opportunity to review. I have picked three books that I have read, reviewed and loved, each featuring a woman who has played a part in all our history.

Please read on for my thoughts…

#bookreview ~ What Alice Knew by T.A. Cotterell @TACotterell1

‘Sometimes it’s better not to know’

What Alice Knew is unbelievably a debut novel by T.A Cotterell.

Published by Black Swan, a Transworld/Penguin Random House imprint, What Alice Knew is available in ebook format from Dec 1st 2016 and will be available in paperback next Spring (20th April 2017).

I was so so lucky to receive an advance copy from the publisher and boy did I eat up this book..

Read on for my full thoughts and YES I DO recommend….

#bookreview The Girl Behind The Lens by Tanya Farrelly @tanyafarrelly

‘Where every word’s a lie

A picture is worth a thousand’

The Girl Behind The Lens is a new release from Irish Writer Tanya Farrelly, published by Killer Reads (Harper Collins). The ebook was released on 28th October and paperback is due for release in December (2016).

I received my copy via NetGalley after a request from writing.ie if I would read and review the book for them.

Billed as a ‘Dark Psychological Thriller’  and for fans of Girl on The Train, I was intrigued to see what it’s pages unfolded….

Please read on for my thoughts….

#bookreview Silent is the Forest by Gisa Klönne @BonnierZaffre

A deeply unsettling psychological thriller for fans of Sophie Hannah, Sarah Hilary and Nicci French…

Silent is the Forest is a newly translated novel published in ebook format by Manilla in September 2016.

Manilla is the joint initiative of Bonnier Zaffre, an imprint of Bonnier Publishing in the UK, and Ullstein Verlag in Germany.

Written by Gisa Klönne, a German writer living in Cologne, I was interested to see how her work would translate into English.

Read on for my thoughts….

#bookreview ~ The Shogun’s Queen by Lesley Downer @LesleyDowner

‘Only one woman can save her world from barbarian invasion but to do so will mean sacrificing everything she holds dear – love, loyalty and maybe life itself . . .’

The Shogun’s Queen from Lesley Downer is a very special book. Published by Bantam Press November 2016, I was honoured and thrilled to receive my copy from the author.

It is one of those books that I hope my review will do justice to but it is suffice to say that I absolutely loved it.

Read on for my full thoughts…

#bookreview The Lesser Bohemians by Eimear McBride

‘I will make myself of life here for life is this place and would be start of mine.’

The Lesser Bohemians is a novel achieving great notoriety in the book world at the moment. Published in September 2016 by Faber & Faber, Eimear McBride has written a novel, I feel, will appeal to a certain few.

Nominated in ‘The Easons Book Club Novel of the Year 2016’ category of the Bord Gais Energy Book Awards, which is taking place next week, I decided to pick up a copy and see why….

Read on for my thoughts…..

#bookreview ~ Madam Tulip by David Ahern @DaveAhernWriter

‘Everybody knows that in Ireland seventh sons of seventh sons have extraordinary powers and can do all kinds of mystical things….Hasn’t the gift been male since time immemorial? But Tulip isn’t in the least concerned.

Times change even in the realms of the supernatural.’

Madam Tulip is a novel with a difference!!

After reading a number of psychological thrillers recently I was looking for something a little lighter and whimsical. I had received a copy from the author David Ahern a few weeks back so decided it was the perfect timing to sit down, put the feet up and head off on a mysterious journey with Madam Tulip…..