#bookreview Silent is the Forest by Gisa Klönne @BonnierZaffre

A deeply unsettling psychological thriller for fans of Sophie Hannah, Sarah Hilary and Nicci French…

Silent is the Forest is a newly translated novel published in ebook format by Manilla in September 2016.

Manilla is the joint initiative of Bonnier Zaffre, an imprint of Bonnier Publishing in the UK, and Ullstein Verlag in Germany.

Written by Gisa Klönne, a German writer living in Cologne, I was interested to see how her work would translate into English.

Read on for my thoughts….

#bookreview ~ The Shogun’s Queen by Lesley Downer @LesleyDowner

‘Only one woman can save her world from barbarian invasion but to do so will mean sacrificing everything she holds dear – love, loyalty and maybe life itself . . .’

The Shogun’s Queen from Lesley Downer is a very special book. Published by Bantam Press November 2016, I was honoured and thrilled to receive my copy from the author.

It is one of those books that I hope my review will do justice to but it is suffice to say that I absolutely loved it.

Read on for my full thoughts…

#bookreview The Lesser Bohemians by Eimear McBride

‘I will make myself of life here for life is this place and would be start of mine.’

The Lesser Bohemians is a novel achieving great notoriety in the book world at the moment. Published in September 2016 by Faber & Faber, Eimear McBride has written a novel, I feel, will appeal to a certain few.

Nominated in ‘The Easons Book Club Novel of the Year 2016’ category of the Bord Gais Energy Book Awards, which is taking place next week, I decided to pick up a copy and see why….

Read on for my thoughts…..

#bookreview ~ Madam Tulip by David Ahern @DaveAhernWriter

‘Everybody knows that in Ireland seventh sons of seventh sons have extraordinary powers and can do all kinds of mystical things….Hasn’t the gift been male since time immemorial? But Tulip isn’t in the least concerned.

Times change even in the realms of the supernatural.’

Madam Tulip is a novel with a difference!!

After reading a number of psychological thrillers recently I was looking for something a little lighter and whimsical. I had received a copy from the author David Ahern a few weeks back so decided it was the perfect timing to sit down, put the feet up and head off on a mysterious journey with Madam Tulip…..

#bookreview : The Last Night by Cesca Major @Cescawrites @CorvusBooks

Two women, separated by years, tied by secrets untold and haunted by tragedies that could not be foreseen

The Last Night by Cesca Major is her latest novel, following on from the wonderful The Silent Hours.

Published by Corvus (3rd November 2016), Cesca Major has written a fictional novel based around true events that took place in Cornwall in 1952.

Yet again Cesca Major manages to bring to the fore a time in our history that many would be unaware of…..when tragedy struck the small village of Lynmouth, a coastal region of Devon on a night in 1952.

Read on for my thoughts……

#blogtour #guestpost Why Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein still inspires ~ Sandra Ireland @22_ireland

It’s always great to be involved with a blogtour, especially when the book is something as unique and slightly Gothic as Beneath the Skin.

Published by Polygon and written by Sandra Ireland this was one book I was looking forward to reading.

My full review is now available to read Here

But in the meantime I am delighted to host Sandra Ireland with a wonderful guest post she has written for us entitled :

‘Why Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein still inspires’

I’ll hand you over to Sandra now…